Faith Odhiambo has been elected president of the Law Society of Kenya, taking over from Eric Theuri.

Odhiambo, who defeated four other contenders, succeeded Theuri, who served as president for a two-year term beginning March 2022.

She received a total of 3113 votes to Peter Wanyama's 2165. Carolyne Kamende finished third with 888.

PHOTO | COURTESY Faith Mony Odhiambo

Bernard Ng'etich came in fourth place with 833 votes, followed by Njoki Mboce with 511.

Odhiambo led in all six polling stations at Milimani Law Courts and at Nyeri, Homa Bay, Nanyuki, Kisii, Machakos, Kisumu, and Nakuru.

In the just-ended LSK elections, 7,521 of 15,715 registered members voted. However, 7510 votes were declared legitimate.